Makes much more sense to live in the present tense

When I was a young little thing of eleven or twelve, there was a band that reached into my chest and calmed my angsty heart.

Yesterday, their debut album turned 21.

As the years went by, more of their words climbed into bed with me to stroke my hair and soothe me to sleep, imparting wisdom that I could identify with, but over the years forgot.

Not the words. I’ll never forget the words to a Pearl Jam song, but somewhere in between the turbulent hormone-soaked days of teenagehood and the know-it-all years of adulthood, I lost the message or maybe just the ability to hear it.

Last night, during my personal Happy Birthday to them, the message came back, a big chest-punch of awareness that told me why I had gone into counselling in the first place:
Take the pieces out, look at them… and then let them go. The past is over, including the opportunities that you once left the door open to.

Today, my smile is genuine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8G2WzH4AKpE

Pearl Jam – Present Tense
Do you see the way that tree bends?
Does it inspire?
Leaning out to catch the sun’s rays
A lesson to be applied

Are you getting something out of this all-encompassing trip?

You can spend your time alone, redigesting past regrets, oh
Or you can come to terms and realise you’re the only one who can’t forgive yourself, oh

Makes much more sense to live in the present tense.

Have you ideas on how this life ends?
Checked your hands and studied the lines
Have you the belief that the road ahead ascends off into the light?

Seems that needlessly it’s getting harder
To find an approach and a way to live

Are we getting something out of this all-encompassing trip?

You can spend your time alone, redigesting past regrets, oh
Or you can come to terms and realise you’re the only one who cannot forgive yourself, oh

Makes much more sense to live in the present tense

4 thoughts on “Makes much more sense to live in the present tense

Leave a Reply

