Freshly Blessed

It was 8:20am and I had spent the past 30 minutes sipping coffee, smoking cigarettes and scrolling through Facebook in my morning Wake Up ritual.

I glanced at the clock, groaning.

“I really should leave for work”, I thought, as I logged into my WordPress account and leaned back in my chair, hoping for a little red notification symbol that told me someone had read my blog. “I’ll just have a quick look, it won’t take long” I thought, ignoring the fact that I was going to be late. Again.

To my surprise, there was more than one like, more than one comment to approve. I actually had to “see all” to see them all.

“What the crap?” I said out loud, clicking the stats bar. “141 views? WHAT?”

I took a screen shot and posted it to Facebook. “Holy crap on a stick! Before this, the most visits to my blog in one day was 42! Look at this shit!” I shouted at my friends.

That was when I noticed that I had other referrers besides Facebook. I had no idea how my blog post, written for the small handful of loyal followers I have accumulated over the past few months, could manage to garner so many views.

I clicked the Freshly Pressed button and almost fell off my chair when I saw my banner on the page. That little banner I spent hours making in Microsoft Publisher, coloured line by coloured line.

I thought that was going to be the most overwhelming part of my day, but boy was I wrong.

Instead, I have been blessed with the most supportive, encouraging and inspirational comments from complete strangers spanning all parts of the globe. And only a few weeks ago, I was feeling incredibly isolated and misunderstood.

Thank you so much to everyone who has taken the time to read, like or comment my posts. The internet can be the most magical community. It constantly reminds me that despite all of our differences, despite all of our own problems, humans can’t help but connect with and support each other when they see that someone needs help.

I didn’t think I could be more determined to succeed in my sobriety than I was when I wrote that post, but the incredible support and encouragement given to me by people I’ve only just met (and am yet to get to know!) has made me feel as though I can do anything.

Thank you. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

22 thoughts on “Freshly Blessed

  1. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed. I am surprised you were not notified by WordPress. I was sent an email about a week before I was lucky enough to get “pressed”. Keep on writing and working on your sobriety.

    • I didn’t check my email until later this evening, but couldn’t see anything from them!

      It was a wonderful surprise and made my day.

      Thanks for your support over these past few months, your words and encouragement, and your intimate knowledge of the place I’ve visited have really helped.

  2. Hi, No Virgin Mary! We’re thrilled to see the outpouring of support, and look forward to reading more about your journey.

    I just wanted to let you know that we do send a personal email to each blogger we feature on Freshly Pressed, so you should have been notified prior to your post appearing on the site. Could you take a look in your junk/spam box, and see if it ended up in there? I’d like to figure out if the issue is on our end or yours, so we can make sure it’s not happening for others.

    Thanks, and congrats again!

  3. YAAAAAAAY!!!! Congrats hon!! So happy that people came together and showed you some awesome support! Many people can relate to where you are at, just not everyone has the guts to write about it as they go through it! Thanks for your comments on my page as well! I look forward to us being a good support system. Today was my biggest day on wordpress as yesterday I did the daily challange. Its so exciting to click on the little stat tab and see that you have had 60some people read your writings!! Best feeling ever! Well minus if I was ever told that my book was going to be published! hahaha! Take care and congrats again! Did they ok your tardiness at work because of your big blog news?!?! I so woulda if I was your supervisor!! =)

    • Thank you!
      I faced my first big test today – a very stressful day at work, and dinner at the pub…
      A lemon squash doesn’t seem to take the edge off the day the same way a whiskey does, but it helped!

    • Thank you so much Bruce.

      And thank you for your constant support of both my writing and myself.

      You’ve been in my corner keeping it warm every time I left it to disappear down the rabbit hole. I really appreciate the encouragement you’ve given me over the past few months

      xx

  4. I didn’t comment the other day, mainly because I recognized so much of what you said and was just swept up by the eloquence with which you put it. There are days… where I really wonder whether I have a problem. I always joke that I just really appreciate alcohol – but when times are rough, I certainly appreciate it more than other times. Call me a fairweather friend.

    I found this post to be incredibly brave. I wish you all the luck I can on this journey. You can do it.
    Kiran

    • I think it’s difficult to recognise whether you have a problem because drinking to excess, especially in this country, is just a very normal part of life.

      The way I measure it is if that the substance you are using impacts negatively on your life, beyond a hangover, then it’s time to reconsider your use.

      Good luck, Kiran. I hope that you can find other healthier ways to deal with the rough times. Using a substance as a crutch works for a little while, but eventually you need more and more and more of it.

      These days, the rough times are far less upsetting to me than my medicating them with alcohol.

      xx

  5. Hi again! I sent you another email from WordPress.com the other day to poke around the notification issue a bit more. I haven’t heard from you yet, so I thought I’d check and make sure you actually received it! If you haven’t gotten it, would you mind dropping us a line at editor at wordpress dot com?

    Thanks again for your help with this.

Leave a Reply

