Lifelove

My lifelove, Sid, is the funniest person that I’ve ever met.

But I have no idea how to explain it.

Each time I try to give an example, it’s so tangled up in Simpsons allusions, in-jokes or something we’ve seen in our late night tumblr sessions that it would never make sense to anyone who isn’t me.

He has this ability to sit back, taking everything in, and when everyone else has exhausted their own jokes, softly, with the perfect delivery, Sid says one little sentence, one little joke, that has everyone in tears (mostly mum).

Back in the early days of the Sid and Bri Adventure Cruise, a mutual friend observed to me that Sid’s entire purpose in life is the happiness of whoever is around him. Friend, stranger, loved one, doesn’t matter, he just feels that its his responsibility to make sure everyone’s having a good time.

Over the years, I’ve come to realise the depth of that observation and witness countless acts of selflessness for the sole purpose of a smile.

Even at my most angry or annoyed, I still can’t lose my awareness of the fact that he is, simply put, a good man.

A lot has changed in the almost-six years we’ve been together, but every now and then, I am still struck in the same manner I was that night I looked into his eyes at the top of the ferris wheel, and for the first time in a very, very long time, knew what it was to be safe and in love with someone who was just as committed to my happiness as I was to theirs.

And every now and then I’m struck by the sudden awareness that for some unknown reason, this man still invites me to dance with him in the kitchen, while spaghetti cooks on the stove. He still looks for magic in the most mundane of life’s moments.

And that’s why he’s the man for me. I play with the invisible magic inside my mind, weaving stories out of sentences that snag and tear against my consciousness, forcing me to listen to them. Sid brings me back out into the real world, and shows me that it can also be as magical as the worlds I create in my mind, if I just give it a chance.

In more ways than one, I’d be lost without him.

3 thoughts on “Lifelove

  1. He is a lucky man indeed! I am happy that y’all have found each other in this world and as long as you keep appreciating each other like you do in this post you will have a beautiful life together.

Leave a Reply

